Farimah Shirmohammadi, a PhD student advised by Constantinos Sioutas, received the poster presentation competition award at the 35th annual American Association of Aerosol Research (AAAR) conference in Portland, OR, which is the biggest professional organization in the field of aerosol science, with its annual meeting having over 1200 participants from all over the world.

Dr. Patrick Lynett received a grant from US-National Science Foundation for RAPID: Recording Tsunami Impacts from the Taan Fjord, Alaska Landslide of October 17th, 2015.

Dr. Adam Smith received a grant from US-National Science Foundation for GOALI: Advancing Decentralized Anaerobic Membrane Bioreactor Treatment of Food Waste.

Dr. Ketan Savla recently received another grant from Metrans. METRANS’ mission is to solve transportation problems of large metropolitan regions through interdisciplinary research, education and outreach.

Jiachen Zhang, a PhD student advised by George Ban-Weiss, received an outstanding student paper award from SCCAEPA (Southern California Chinese-American Environmental Protection Association), for her paper entitled Revisiting the Climate Impacts of Coll Roofs around the Globe Using an Earth System Model.The purpose of the competition was to recognize students who performed outstanding research and encourage research in environmental fields. … Read More